Hellooo Weekend!

Friday makes me happy. Very happy. I always start my weekend with a to-do list a mile long and, always, inevitably, make very little progress on it. So busy am I with doing the things that I don’t have time for that, well, I don’t have time for them still. But whatever, there’s always next weekend, right??

What I’m Reading this Weekend:

51ZT7Pdg+YL
Not my edition. But it’s so pretty that I may have to acquire it for my bookshelf…

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. Having recently read Evelina by Frances Burney (Miss Austen’s predecessor, whom I’ve already blogged about), I thrilled to see a reference to it in Northanger Abbey, something I had never noticed before (and I’ve visited this book multiple times!).

713WA7W4WDL

Diary of A Provincial Lady by E.M. Delafield. So far an enjoyable story of a British family straddling modernity and tradition in the 1930’s and written in humorous, journal-like snippets.

My Shopping Plans

I plan on picking out a new fall fragrance this weekend. As a horrible decision-maker, I predict that not only will this monumental, life-altering choice take forever to make, but that my nose will have lost all sense of smell at the end of it.

Shelbi Blog
Jo Malone… and wanting this top from Anthro… and picking out a purse for my mom…

Any place that has a sale! (Did you see that Anthropologie is having an extra 25% off? Wut wut?! See ya in the sale section…)

My lovely mom has a birthday next week. I plan on getting some pretty things for her big day. (Any one else have a mom whose style sense is closely related to your own? Makes shopping so.much.fun!)

Eating and Drinking

Whatever I indulge in this weekend, let me tell you, it will be good. (I don’t work out all week not to enjoy my weekend foods…)

Come back tomorrow for part 2 of Paris! Until then, dear friends… xo

 

 

5 thoughts on “Hellooo Weekend!

  1. I love Jane Austen! It was years before I ventured to read Northanger Abbey though, since ads and most of the book covers I’ve seen for it made it look so “spooky,” but I finally gave in and thoroughly enjoyed it. (I held off on reading Jane Eyre for years too, for the same spooky-looking-in-the-ads reason, but now Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favorite books.)

    Like

    • Both Jane Eyre and Northanger Abbey are all-time favorites of mine as well! I had almost the same expectations before reading them many years ago and was happily surprised otherwise. Isn’t it funny how we form an impression of a book and then, on reading it, get a pleasurable surprise when it’s not at all what we thought? I have had this happen to me so many times! I am so glad you gave Northanger Abbey and Jane Eyre a try, because they are books that appear dark and spooky, but on reading, are so enjoyable! I find Northanger Abbey such a funny book that it’s hard to know why publishers have never made its covers and ads as lighthearted as the book’s content.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

