Thanksgiving Reflections

O world, I cannot hold thee close enough!
   Thy winds, thy wide grey skies!
   Thy mists, that roll and rise!
Thy woods, this autumn day, that ache and sag
And all but cry with colour!   That gaunt crag
To crush!   To lift the lean of that black bluff!
World, World, I cannot get thee close enough!

IMG_4998.JPG

Long have I known a glory in it all,
         But never knew I this;   
         Here such a passion is
As stretcheth me apart,—Lord, I do fear
Thou’st made the world too beautiful this year;
My soul is all but out of me,—let fall
No burning leaf; prithee, let no bird call.
Edna St. Vincent Millay
Thanksgiving is the culmination of autumn for me, and on this day of gratitude, I am so thankful for beauty in this world. Nature’s seasons reflect the human experience in profound ways, and there is so much to be discovered in moments of quiet and stillness when we can let our hearts relax and our thoughts, like autumn leaves, fall gently and quietly into place.
I am learning to look for beauty everywhere; not just in obvious joy and pleasure, but in the obscurity of waiting, sorrow, and hope. To put it simply, I am finally learning to appreciate, and even marvel at, the mere ordinariness of life.  Amidst the chatter of family and beneath the savory scents infusing the surrounding air, I plan to take a moment to be still and wonder at the beauty of the everyday things I so often take for granted.
Here’s wishing that your Thanksgiving is full of delight, beauty, and joy in the obvious and in the ordinary…  xo
Leave a Reply

