A White Christmas

IMG_1810.JPG

 

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.” 
― John Steinbeck, Travels with Charley: In Search of America

The last couple of Decembers we were gifted with unusual Christmastime snowfalls. The above picture was shot last year when, after a night of vigorous storms that dropped snow and ice, we awoke to a bright winter landscape. Perhaps it is because I don’t get to experience it very often, but the prospect of snow has never ceased to cause my heart to flutter and my mind to begin planning my snow day activities (because in Texas, a snowfall means a city-wide shutdown and everything closes). This year it doesn’t look as if we will get snow before Christmas, which is why I am especially anticipating my trip to New England next week where I will experience a White Christmas nonetheless. I will take knitting and reading material, and am looking forward to a week of fireside relaxation in between winter activities at the Vermont farmhouse where my family will be staying.

Happy Weekend, dear friends! xo

One thought on “A White Christmas

  1. Lovely read! Thanks for introducing me to this quote by John Steinbeck. I just read Of Mice and Men by the author and have written a review on it. You may want to check it out : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

