Thoughts on Winter

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

2015/01/img_5463.jpg

Texas has become warm again (of course. It always does). Because of this, I have found myself reflecting on my winter vacation last month, thinking about snowy landscapes and brisk, cold air. As much as I enjoyed every part of my vacation (being with family, visiting a small town, meeting new people, and so on), perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of my stay in the mountains were the winter scenes that caused me to take in my breath wherever I encountered them; which, in fact, was everywhere.

2015/01/img_5539.jpg

It seemed that mountains and trees were welcoming me always – on a walk, snowshoeing, skiing, or even just driving into town. It’s as though nature itself knew that I was from Texas and starving for such winter scenes, and so she arrayed and presented herself in much splendor in order that she might be properly appreciated.

2015/01/img_5550.jpg

She would put on a show most grandiose, rolling her majestic clouds across the mountains or shooting shafts of sunbeam suddenly across the sky and through the trees.

2015/01/img_54711.jpg

2015/01/img_5599.jpg

 Or she would drop her snowflakes softly, gently, dusting the trees and causing them to lithely dance in the frozen air.

2015/01/img_5652.jpg

Yes, I do miss it.

2015/01/img_5650.jpg

Leave a Reply

