Summer on The Seine

IMG_0900

One of my favorite afternoons in Paris was spent walking along the Seine, enjoying the peaceful lull in a city that was quiet because it was August and just about everything was closed. That was bad news for me, as I was eager to try the many stores and restaurants and patisseries that I had heard about but that were no longer open that month. It turned into good news for me when I realized that I was saving money by not buying things, and being forced into experiences I would never have tried otherwise.

In fact, something I learned while there was that Paris need not be expensive to be enjoyed. This was revelatory to me, as it was so contrary to what I had always thought. But truly, one of the best things about Paris is that the most memorable experiences won’t cost travelers a cent. Like stretching out on a verdant park lawn beneath blue skies.

IMG_0934

Or reading beneath leafy boughs in the Tuileries.

IMG_0916Sitting on the Seine, gazing out over the sunbeams playing on the water.

IMG_0827

Or stopping at the book stalls lining the bank.

IMG_0906

All free.  All memorable. All priceless.

On your next visit to Paris, I encourage you to slow down. Try not to fit in all the sights and activities that the city offers. Instead, wander around. Get a little lost. Spend an afternoon picnicking in a park or along the Seine and watch the world go by.

IMG_0898

You won’t regret it.

I blogged previously about doing Paris on a budget. You can find those posts here and here.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

