Dry Shampoo: A Review

IMG_8108

I’m not much of a product person. At least, I’m not someone who’s typically out purchasing the latest and greatest beauty product. It takes me awhile to get through my current items (which I refuse to toss as it seems so wasteful to me!), and also I like to wait and see what “real” people say about the products, and check reviews on makeupalley.com or totalbeauty.com regularly. As someone on a budget, I want to be certain that my money isn’t wasted and that I’m getting a product that I enjoy and that will truly be beneficial.

I often share trip reviews, book reviews, and other products, but I’ve never done a beauty product review before. If it hadn’t been suggested on Instagram, I might still never have thought of doing it. But I realized that as much as I benefit from other people’s reviews, it is my hope to give back and let others hopefully benefit from my unbiased, unsponsored views that I’m sharing in this post.

Here is my first product review, which I hope you’ll find useful.

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

IMG_8110

A friend showed me her travel size that she had received in Birchbox while on a trip and I fell in love with the scent and the clear spray. It’s expensive, however, but after waiting for a good price to pop up on Amazon, I finally scored a good deal and was able to purchase a 5.3 oz bottle for less than $20 (s&h included). On receiving it, however, I was very much disappointed to notice that the first two ingredients were butane and propane. I mean, seriously? Why had I not checked this before buying? I’m never a fan of flammable chemicals (who is?) and while I realize that this is common, I had never used a product yet that had those ingredients listed first. No going back now, so I’ve been using it anyway (I can’t stand wasting money and since I couldn’t return it, I thought I might as well give it a try) and have to admit that the scent was strong enough to cover my dirty hair, but not in an overpowering way. It also absorbed quickly and makes my hair look fuller. In fact, my hair has felt great every time I’ve used it. Now if only they can make it butane and propane free…

IMG_8108
My dirty hair looking good with Amika.

I will definitely keep using this product, but hope to find a comparable replacement that is more healthy and environmentally friendly. If those factors don’t bother you, then this product is probably worth its price.

You can buy it from Amazon and Sephora.

Until next time… Have a wonderful weekend!

This post was not sponsored and all views are my own. 

2 thoughts on “Dry Shampoo: A Review

  1. I loved your review! I am a huge fan of dry shampoo. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for a healthier/more environmentally friendly kind!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Molly
    ww.stylemissmolly.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

