The Sweets Quest

I’m always on the hunt for a good bakery, it seems. Bakeries with delectable sweets and mouth-watering breads have always been scarce in my area. In fact, I’ve battled so many disappointments over the years as I would try locally touted bakery after bakery, only to realize that my satisfaction standard must be either way higher than the average person’s, or so unique as to be scarce. I might have doubted my taste buds had I not experienced truly scrumptious foods in other cities where I partook of culinary delights with other people who shared my desire to eat high-quality, flavorful foods that would actually be worth every additional calorie it would impart to our waistlines.

However, with the burgeoning coffee house scene in my area came better pastries served in them, made by hand from local artisans who had clearly studied their craft.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Avoca Coffee. Stir Crazy Baked Goods cake. Penguin Classics book. Ahh, the life.

And lo if I didn’t discover that my tastes were indeed shared by plenty of other people – so much so that some suppliers have now opened their own storefronts and are busy enough with other appreciating customers that my taste buds feel exonerated at last.

Last week I visited Stir Crazy Baked Goods in their new Magnolia Street store with my mom and sister. We were immediately drawn to the open space and charming European-style cafe vibes coupled with cheery flowers (available for purchase) at the front. 

IMG_8220
Garden store meets French cafe in the cutest way possible.

We ordered two different pieces of cake, both served as generous slices and more than enough for sharing. What I love best about SCBG is that their cakes are perfectly moist without being too dense and have a lovely balance of frosting – enough to feel giddy about but not so much that it overpowers the cake. The flavors in each cake I’ve tried (and this includes what I have eaten previously at Avoca Coffee, where they have served sweets for quite awhile) are deliciously combined and never overwhelming. In short, if you live in Fort Worth or are planning on a visit here, then this place is a must-visit. 

A piece of cake is like magic: first you see it, then you don’t…

You won’t regret it.

I promise.

Until next time… Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

