Midweek Link Love

Tip: lavender lattes will help buoy midweek ennui.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but there have been some great articles shared over the net the past few days. I thought I would share my favorites with you in the hopes that you will enjoy reading them as much as I did.

For the Introverts: A Guide To Enjoying Parties. As an introvert, I thought that this article on Verily was helpful. Don’t be put off by the title; the tips and advice presented here can be applied to any social setting. I’m not much of a party-goer, but I do participate in a lot of group activities, so you can be sure that I’ll be putting these tips into practice!

For the Writers: Advice. As someone who struggles with the discipline of writing (because as much as we like to think that it’s a creative, free-spirited process, it really is a discipline), this article was on-point. It’s not what I want to hear, but it most definitely is what I need to hear – and practice. Along the same lines, here’s another article with some excellent writing advice. It’s from a couple of months ago, but worth reading, and reading over and again at that.

For the Traveler: Oxford Travel Quiz. This was a fun quiz and I’ll be honest, I’m not as travel-savvy as I thought! How about you?

“What are we doing to our students if we encourage them to develop extra-thin skin in the years just before they leave the cocoon of adult protection and enter the workforce? Would they not be better prepared to flourish if we taught them to question their own emotional reactions, and to give people the benefit of the doubt?” The Atlantic: The Coddling of The American Mind

For the Thinkeran article from the Atlantic about the effects of “trigger warnings” on college campuses. There is so much to be said here, but I think the Atlantic does a good job in bringing these considerations out. It raises some interesting questions and probes the future of an America that is fearful of ideas. I need not tell you that this is a frightening place for a society to be in: the discussion, tolerance, and consideration of ideas, even those that make us uncomfortable, is vital to a healthy society and to the formation of the mind. I find it an anomaly that in a culture laden with education, we have become extrememly fearful of issues, ideas, and beliefs that demand thought and ethical deliberation

“If students graduate believing that they can learn nothing from people they dislike or from those with whom they disagree, we will have done them a great intellectual disservice.” The Atlantic: The Coddling of The American Mind

Until next time…

Shelbi

2 thoughts on “Midweek Link Love

    • Thank you for stopping by, Margaret! I’m very honored you did. I wanted so much to attend your recent Writer’s Bootcamp but was unable to. I really hope I can make it to the next one! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

