Ginger + Clay Moisturizing Body Scrub

Sometimes a friend’s birthday arrives and as much as you’re thought about what to give her over the year, and you see a million things she’d like and that you could buy, it somehow seems inadequate to just buy something. Because you know that your friend is worth all the time it takes to craft a gift and you know that you want to give that friend something unique. Something thoughtful. Something special. Because your friend is all that and more.

Enter the handmade gift.Β 

Now, before I go on, let me be clear about one thing: a handmade gift is never a cheap gift. You have to buy ingredients. You spend time mixing or making. You package it. And you pray that the person you’re gifting it to doesn’t think that you were just cheaping out on a gift because it’s handmade. If you’re someone who receives handmade gifts, please don’t ever assume that they were made inexpensively – because more than likely, they weren’t. And you can’t put a price tag on someone’s time and desire to create something special, just for you.

Now for the fun part: the recipe! You guys, this stuff is wonderful. Easy to mix, the ingredients aren’t difficult to acquire, and it smells delicious and feels so.so.good on the skin!Β I saw this idea originally in Willow + Sage, but went with this Martha Stewart recipe instead, changing it a little (of course) because I felt that the combination of epsom salts and sugar would be nice, rather than the either/or the original recipe calls for.

Notes on the recipe:

I used an inexpensive coconut oil, which is not recommended for ingestion, but for topical use I think it’s perfect. Alternatively, almond oil, olive oil, or any carrier oil can be used. I chose coconut oil because of its fabulous hydrating and renewing properties for skin, which you can read about here. Also, I used Dr. Teal’s Epsom Salts, which offers many scent varieties, and is carried by Target, Walgreens, and Walmart. I chose the clay and ginger because of the bentonite clay added to the salts. Bentonite clay is used to draw toxins from the body. Other facts can be found here.

Β Ginger + Clay Moisturizing Body Scrub

  • 1 1/2 cups Dr. Teal’s Detoxify & Energize epsom salt
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar (brown sugar can also be used)
  • 1 cup carrier oil
  • 8 drops essential oil(s) (this only if you buy unscented epsom salts)
  • plastic pipette or dropper
  • canning jars

Mix epsom salts, sugar, and oil in a bowl. If you’re using unscented salts, add essential oil of choice to solution with a pipette, one drop at a time until desired scent is achieved. Spoon into cans and make sure they are sealed tightly.

Package and gift! (and save a little out for yourself…)

Until next time,

Shelbi

2 thoughts on “Ginger + Clay Moisturizing Body Scrub

  1. Hey Shelbi, I found your cute blog through instagram and I couldn’t agree more that a homemade gift is NOT a cheap gift. So true. I make bath bombs because I love it but some of the ingredients are expensive and it is time consuming. Great post and cant wait to try this little diy!

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Steph! I think only people who take the time to create things can realize how much effort + sacrifice (such as time and money) goes into a handmade gift. As an educator, I’ve had parents make me things and I’ve always tried my best to let them know how much I appreciate it for those reasons. I hope you enjoy trying this, and I’m so glad you stopped by! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

