Simple + Tasty Buttermilk Biscuits

6060_edit

Sometimes there are days when you just need comfort food. Old-fashioned, bad-for-you-but-oh-so-good comfort food. In the South, that means anything made with flour and salt. And it usually involves biscuits.

On warm summer mornings, I like room-temperature buttermilk biscuits paired with butter or jam. On chilly fall mornings, I like them piping hot, maybe even paired with gravy (oh yes. Sometimes you have to go all the way with your comfort food)

6082_edit

A friend shared this recipe with me many years ago and I have never made another buttermilk biscuit other than these since then. They’re that good. And I like to tell myself that they’re healthy since they have olive oil. (Yeah, I don’t really believe it either – but it sounds good). Here’s hoping that you will find them just as easy to make and satisfying to eat as I do every time I make a batch!

Simple + Tasty Buttermilk Biscuits

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt (I like to use kosher salt sometimes – it makes them a little saltier)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup olive oil

1 cup buttermilk (see below for substitute)

In bowl of electric mixer or mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt together, whisking dry ingredients to combine well. Add oil and buttermilk. Mix thoroughly with a dough hook or paddle attachment until dough comes together. Add more flour if needed. Dough should form into a ball when ready.

Sprinkle a surface with flour to roll out the dough to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut into desired shapes and place on a baking sheet.

Bake at 400 F for about 10-15 minutes or until light brown.

Lightly glaze biscuit tops with butter while still hot.

Cool completely and enjoy!

Buttermilk substitute: who keeps buttermilk in their fridge? I don’t. Not unless I had to buy some for a recipe. So most of the time I make this recipe I use this handy substitute: 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice added to 1 cup milk. Let it sit for a few minutes, then add in as directed.

6072_edit

Until next time,

Shelbi

Leave a Reply

