A (Procrastinator’s) Halloween Costume

This post is a little out of the norm for me, but I thought it would be fun to share my Halloween costume for this year with you all.

First, a confession: I haven’t dressed up for Halloween since I was a child. I’ve always had fun costume ideas but never got around to implementing any. This year was different, though. Since we were having a Superhero/Princess day at the preschool, I took advantage of the opportunity to put together a costume. Procrastinator that I am though, I waited until about two weeks ago to start looking for a dress. Of course nothing great was left anywhere. No big, sparkly, flouncy dresses at Goodwill or gaudy tiaras in the dollar/party stores. I settled for a sparkly headband, but still had no dress to go with it.

IMG_8972Superhero/Princess Day was on Tuesday. On Monday after a tutoring session, I ran into Goodwill one more time. And what do you know, but hanging from the rack was the pinkest, ruffliest, sparkliest, flounciest dress you ever saw! And it even had a great big bow on the back, Disney-princess-style! I couldn’t believe it. Yes, there were tears and stains, but nothing anyone would notice just looking at it.

I styled my hair by washing it, added some mousse for body and spritzed with this sea salt spray, and then pinned it all over my head with bobby pins while it was damp. All day my little class kept telling me how much they liked my dress, so I think it was a success overall. And since Halloween is only a few days away, I plan on dressing up again to greet trick-or-treaters and hand out candy.

IMG_8973
I added a white t-shirt because the top is ill-fitting and loose.Ā 

I hope this post will inspire you if you are a procrastinator like I am and in need of a quick, budget-friendly costume. Don’t despair if you can’t find anything – just think creatively and enjoy the results!

Dress: Goodwill, $11
Headband: Party City, $1

Total Costume Cost: $12.00Ā 

Until next time,

Shelbi


2 thoughts on “A (Procrastinator’s) Halloween Costume

Leave a Reply

