Nutmeg Scones

 

I don’t know about the rest of you, but when short, cold, gray days arrive in January, I really don’t feel like being healthy. If I’m honest, I feel like unhealthy, warming, comforting scones. Paired with coffee. Or a book. Or both.

Last week my bookclub was meeting at a local cafe, so I checked the menu before heading over to see what would be available (I like to mull over my options…). They had nutmeg scones listed, and I knew immediately that those would be my indulgence while chatting books with my group. On arriving, however, they were gone already! I was so disappointed. Having never had a nutmeg scone, it sounded like the perfect cold winter day treat. I had to settle for a mini pie, but I really wanted nutmeg scones.

I couldn’t stop thinking about them.

I had to try making some.

Starting with my favorite basic scone recipe (Alton Brown’s – the best!!), I added some nutmeg and cinnamon (I thought the cinnamon would enhance and balance the pungent nutmeg) and crossed my fingers for a good turnout.

I may experiment more, but these turned out good enough that I wanted to go ahead and share them – just in case you also need a comforting scone for a cold day…

 Nutmeg Scones

Ingredients

2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 tablespoons cold butter

2 tablespoons shortening

3/4 cup heavy cream

1 egg

Topping:

1 egg

Pinch of sea salt

2 tablespoons sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

To Make:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients and whisk well to mix. Grate in butter and then add shortening. Mix well using hands until mixture resembles coarse meal. In a separate bowl, whisk cream and egg to combine and then add to dry ingredients, mixing only until incorporated.

Turn dough out onto floured surface, fold in half, turn 90 degrees and fold again (this gets air out and helps incorporate any remaining flour). Roll out to desired thickness and cut with biscuit rounds.

Prepare egg wash by beating egg and pinch of salt, then brushing over the scones. Mix sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg; sprinkle on top of egg wash.

Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly brown.

Makes 1 dozen.

Note: the egg wash creates a crisp top on the scone. If soft scones are more your thing, brush scones lightly with water instead of the egg wash before applying topping.

IMG_9631

Until next time,

Shelbi

Leave a Reply

