The Warden: A Review

Confession: I often think that I want to review books I’ve read, just to have a record of my thoughts on the book. Mainly because I know that within six months I’ll have forgotten it already. However, the reality is that I’m very bad at getting it done. For one thing, I typically finish a book and immediately launch (and become absorbed) into another, which removes the recently finished book from my mind. But I am going to try to review books more often, and what better novel to start with than The Warden as I ready myself to begin Barchester Towers (the second in the Chronicles of Barsetshire series) next week with my Trollope group? 

The Warden

Anthony Trollope

A man lives comfortably with his daughter on a nice pension from a dead man’s will. A young lawyer (who happens to be courting the warden’s daughter) decides to challenge the will because he believes that the money rightfully belongs to the church’s bedesmen. What ensues is a story of a family and village dividing over the issue, with the warden becoming increasingly burdened by the decision that he will have to make: will he fight for what is rightfully his or will he cave to unreasonable demands placed on him in a community that is too small for any issue to be handled in anonymity?

This is a short book and one well worth reading. If you’re planning on joining the Instagram Barchester Towers read along, reading this ahead of time isn’t necessary, but it is definitely a must-read sometime in the future.

Here’s a link to my edition of The Warden:
The Warden (Oxford World’s Classics)

Happy Easter, everyone! On Instagram I posted a part of John Donne’s Good Friday poem to commemorate the weekend. I haven’t had much time to be quiet and reflective this Easter week, so I’m grateful for small moments spent reading a poem or gazing on nature in order to refresh my soul.

Until Next Time,

Shelbi

 

8 thoughts on “The Warden: A Review

  1. I really enjoyed reading this one before Barchester Towers. It was such a delightful introduction to Trollope. Very nice review! And you have a lovely blog. 🙂 – @inkwellmusings on Instagram

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Nicole! I really enjoyed it, but I have to admit, I’m enjoying Barchester Towers even more! 😉 And thank you so much for your kind comments and for stopping by my blog! I didn’t know you had one too, so I’m checking it out right now. 🙂

      Like

    • Haha, I feel the same way! It’s so nice to know I’m not alone in this! 😉 I love that it was a reason for you to start blogging – I really wish I’d thought to start doing it sooner… Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

