1938 Club: The Long Valley

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

When I found out about the #1938 book club, I knew that this was something that I would love doing. Choosing a book was more difficult than I initially thought it would be – some I had already read, but there were several authors I had not read yet, and so thought now was as good a time as any to get around to them. I ended up buying Agatha Christie’s Appointment With Death (yes, you guessed right – I’ve never read Agatha Christie! *gasp*) and trying to buy Graham Greene’s Brighton Rock and John Steinbeck’s The Long Valley. The last two proved to be very elusive – I just didn’t have any luck finding them in my local bookstores.

IMG_2838

However, my mom managed to find Steinbeck just as I was about to start on Christie, so I switched mental gears and went into the wild west to explore Americana instead of London to solve a murder. Borrowing her book, I embarked into book filled with short stories of a land that is sparse, beautiful, wild, free, and troubled.

For my first time reading Steinbeck, I really wasn’t sure what to expect. As I read through his stories, I had a vague feeling that I’d encountered him before. Of course I hadn’t, but his style reminded me of Hemingway, and his landscapes and strange stories echoed those of Willa Cather.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Delving into the first stories in the book, I was intrigued by the novelty of the plots and characters that Steinbeck had developed. I wasn’t really hooked into the stories, however, and felt more like an observer than a reader immersed into a story, where its emotions and plot twists become mine. I kept at it, however, and had made up my mind that this book was okay but maybe not really worth recommending – until I came to the last story: The Red Pony. Here I became an immersed reader, my emotions rising and falling, suspense building as I followed a little boy and his love for a red pony. I became caught up in the story of a family on their ranch; a tough father who hides his pride for his son beneath a gruff demeanor and a mother who hides her love beneath her own reserved facade. Ranch life is hard and the characters are hard-edged, worn, people with beautiful souls. Perhaps the best character is that of the ranch hand who holds the young Jody’s admiration. This story is one of a child’s deep trust and faith in a fallible man – a faith that is tested to its core and will leave you in suspense over the outcome of it all. I don’t often cry when reading books, but the tears streamed down my face as I read this story.

Head over to Stuck in a Book to read more 1938 book reviews!

I hope you have a weekend that is filled with stories…

Until Next Time,

Shelbi

 

7 thoughts on “1938 Club: The Long Valley

    • Thank you, Resh! I did enjoy it and would like to read more Steinbeck now. And yes, we really are enjoying bursts of color in Texas! I like documenting it so that I can remember its loveliness during the drab summer months. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was going to read this one for The 1938 Club but didn’t have time in the end; I’m glad that you included it as Steinbeck seems to be becoming a forgotten writer these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have been intending to read Steinbeck for a long time now, and am glad I finally did. I hadn’t thought about it, but you’re right, he doesn’t seem to be popular for many readers. I’m not sure why, as his writing style is really good. I thought it interesting the way he spares details unless it’s something that he wants to flesh out, and then he becomes almost poetic.

      Thank you for stopping by! I enjoyed seeing your 1938 book choices – I wouldn’t have thought to read Dr. Seuss, but that was an excellent choice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks. I wish I’d had time to read the Steinbeck book, especially as I had hoped to read some Steinbeck this year anyway. BTW ‘Cannery Row’ was one I really enjoyed; the sequel, ‘Sweet Thursday’ is sitting at my local library wanting to be read.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the recommendation! I recently bought Of Mice and Men to read next but you’ve convinced me to read Cannery Row instead. 🙂 I hope you’ll write a review of Sweet Thursday when you finish reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

