The Depths of Life

“Life is too deep for words, so don’t try to describe it, just live it.” –C.S. Lewis

Sometimes life feels deep and I want to revel in every moment, plunging into its depths and taking in every joy or wonder that I experience. And sometimes life can feel deep in a different way, and rather than be plunged into its dark profundity, I find myself swimming for the shallows where I know there is footing and safety. Isn’t it fascinating to consider how life can simultaneously give you one and the other, almost in the same breath? This was me last week when I enjoyed afternoons like this:IMG_6353…before being slammed with assignments for my classes that, try as I might, I just couldn’t complete to the satisfaction of one of my professors. I was also housesitting and one of the dogs I was watching came down with a bacterial infection, requiring extra care and a strict regimen of medication (with almost all having to be administered in the middle-of-the-night). Then I was hit with a migraine on Friday, and in between feeling absolutely wretched, all I could think about was how much time was being wasted while I was sick. Finally, on Saturday, as my professor kept sending my assignments back with loads of comments and suggestions, I finally broke down and cried. I haven’t cried over a class since I took a science major’s biology research lab. I came this close to withdrawing from the class. I just didn’t think I could make it (and honestly, I still have moments as it hasn’t gotten any easier this week).

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Solitary moment captured before the dog started chewing on those little weeds/flowers…
But in the middle of all that, guess what? I took the dogs (the sick one is in the above photo) on a walk one morning to a nearby field. This wasn’t our first time, and even though I’d been there already on a couple of mornings, this time I was really struck by the beauty of the summer sunrise and the way that its light flowed in over the tall trees that bordered the field. And it made me think that rather than longing to be someplace I’m not (thanks to my perpetual wanderlust), I really should be focused on finding the beauty with where I am, and looking to see what extraordinary things I can discover in the ordinary and everyday occurrences.

IMG_6510Another bright spot was that I received this lovely dress/tunic from shein.com and it cheered me so much to see that it was just as adorable, and even more so, as it looked online. After my emotional Saturday, I couldn’t wait to get out and wear it. I tried it on an afternoon spent running some errands (is shopping at Target considered an errand?!) and it was so much fun to wear that I did it again two days later.

I paired it with white jeans first, but black jeans were even better. Sorry I didn’t get a photo of it! 

Even though it’s technically a dress, I decided to try it as a tunic and I loved it. This way I can get more outfits from it since I can wear it to work or anyplace where I need more coverage. On a sweltering weekend, however, I would wear it as a dress.

What I love about it is the summery gingham (natch),  its versatility (can be worn as a dress or tunic!), the ruffled elastic around the top so it can be worn off-shoulder if desired, its cotton material which is perfect for hot summer days, and the way that it makes me feel like having fun when I wear it (I know, I know – I’m bordering on the dramatic! But you guys, it’s totally true…).

Do check it out here (and it may or may not be less than $20! You can thank me later…).

Please note: the website says that the dress is blue/white, but mine arrived as a black/white combo. Which didn’t matter to me because I love black and white gingham. But it’s worth noting in case you don’t like black. 🙂

I’m off now to live life and try to find the beautiful in the ordinary. Who knows, maybe I’ll discover it in my tears-inducing English class…

Until Next Time,

Shelbi


Dress c/o of shein.com

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Depths of Life

  1. Hope your English class is going better! That sounds so stressful. But love that you were able to find bright spots in the ordinary occurrences of everyday life. ❤ Staying thankful for the little things always helps me through tough times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved reading your post. Life is a strange mix of highs and lows. I try to savour the highs and they help me brace myself for the lows. And finding the extraordinary in the ordinary is my motto in life xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that’s good advice, Arpita! I’ll savor future highs and store them up for the lows. 🙂 and I love that life motto of yours! I just wish I’d discovered it sooner… 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

