Hello August!

IMG_6931

Another day, another week, another month! Can you believe it’s August already?! I don’t know about you, but this year is flying by. It’s getting to be that time of year when I can count to Christmas using my paychecks (in case you’re wondering, it’s 8 more for me… How’s that for feeling like the holidays are around the corner?!).

IMG_6924

Rather than think about that, I’d much rather think about the books I’m reading this week! The #Dahlalong that I’m hosting with fellow #Dahlings on Instagram has started. It’s a month-long celebration of Roald Dahl’s 100th birthday by reading his books. You can choose whichever and as many as you want, and if you’d like to post photos of your progress, we have some fun photo prompts that you can use! Be sure to find my original post here for all the details if you would like to participate.

IMG_6926

I’m also enjoying this lovely blouse that I received from Make Me Chic. Isn’t it gorgeous?! If you keep up with trends, you’ll see how popular these sleeves are right now. However, this blouse is a fraction of the prices that I’ve seen elsewhere.

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetI paired it on two separate days with different skirts so that you can see how versatile it is. The print skirt is a Free People piece that I found last fall at Macy’s for $7!

And the skirt below is my favorite vintage skirt. Cotton and stripes and pockets so big your hands get lost inside.

IMG_6927

I also love how adjustable the off-shoulder top is. If you’re more modest like I am, you can bare a little shoulder. If you’re daring, you can bare a lot – it’s up to you!

IMG_6923

This top is very loose-fitting, so size down for a perfect fit. And I wore a cami under mine because it’s unlined and, er, eyelets all over…

(but the cami in no way detracted from the blouse, as you can see!)

IMG_6925

You can buy it here at Makemechic.com .

Until next time,

Shelbi

Outfit deets: Blouse c/o Make Me Chic. Sandals by Anthropologie and wedges by Wanted (found at Marshall’s). Blue print skirt and brown tote by Free People. Necklace by and c/o Marissa T. Designs .

p.s. Here is what I’m reading this week:

English Sixteenth-Century Verse: An Anthology (I love Norton Critical editions!) and Matilda by Roald Dahl.

2 thoughts on “Hello August!

Leave a Reply

