Delightful Days

img_7385

I’ve had a busy month, but busy need not imply unpleasant. There is a certain kind of delight to a busy life if it is handled with care. Too much busyness and I become stressed. Too little and I begin to lose energy and inspiration. Humans need activity, if only to revel in the quiet at a day’s end or seeing the satisfaction of a hard day’s work conclude.

img_7389

I’m still trying to find this delicate balance between good and bad busyness, and this month there have been days when the weight of work and deadlines began to make me panic and even lose sleep. This past weekend was especially stressful. I had school assignments that had to be completed, but due to starting a new job I was behind in getting them done. I had scheduled meeting up with a few friends and nearly canceled as Saturday dawned and I still had an essay, an annotated bibliography, and a sonnet paraphrase to write within 36 hours.

But I didn’t want to disappoint my friends, so I went to the museum Saturday morning with one sweet friend (we even made a stop for some yummy donuts on the way) to see an exhibit featuring The Brothers Le Nain.

img_7383
Thank you, Funky Town Donuts, for making my pants tighter this week… (p.s. but so worth it!)

After an adventure with an almost-flat tire on the way home, I dashed over to another friend’s house for her son’s birthday party. Then I ran to a coffee shop to meet up with a new friend I’d just met the week before. Saturday evening I typed furiously but still had a lot to do. Sunday I went to church and then to another friend’s house because I had already rescheduled meeting up with two more friends that week and this was the only time that would work for all three of us. While there, with the weight of my assignments continually pressing on me, I suddenly began to relax.

img_7384
My friends surprised me with cake. That succulent on top!

And it occurred to me that even though my social life had pushed me to complete assignments at insane hours, the time with encouraging friends was something that my soul had needed after a busy week. I didn’t even realize how much I needed it until that moment. I went home and managed to complete everything by the deadline, and even an extra credit assignment that I’d forgotten about. I think that allowing myself to destress a little gave me the energy and focus I needed to finish.

I’m still learning. Trying to figure out how to push myself and how to relax before things become too stressful.

In the meantime, I’m reveling in things like…

img_7390

Living to see another year of my life turn. How is that birthdays come around so quickly? Also, my talented seester made my birthday breakfast. And yes, that’s a giant blob of chocolate on the plate, which how much chocolate were in these scrumptious treats…

img_7386

This new purse from shein.com. Isn’t it adorable? Have I ever told you how much I rely on crossbody purses?! They are the best, especially when shopping or traveling. I love the detail on this purse. It’s not only inexpensive, but would be adorable to transition into fall with! The only thing to note is that this is the “camel” color, but clearly it’s a gray. Which is fine by me, but if you’re expecting a brown, you’ll be surprised when it arrives. I also love the black option that they have.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

And reading another Dahl book for the #Dahlalong taking place on Instagram (come join us!).

img_7275

What are you delighting in this week?

Until next time,

Shelbi

Purse c/o of shein.com.

BFG at Amazon

6 thoughts on “Delightful Days

  1. Oh looks likes delicious time:) Work life balance management is so important. For me it is a work in progress. And it is about finding and placing importance on the things we love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, Arpita! I’ll probably figure it out by the time I retire. 😉 You are right, it’s a good way to discover where priorities should be, and who/what is truly important in my life.

      Hope you’re having a good weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

