Autumn Dreaming

“He found himself wondering at times, especially in the autumn, about the wild lands, and strange visions of mountains that he had never seen came into his dreams.”

J.R.R. Tolkien {The Fellowship of the Ring}

Who else begins dreaming in autumn? If you’re like me, you begin to dream of adventures in faraway lands – of places where there are crisp days and multicolored leaves crowing trees before falling into multitudinous piles. You may also dream of baking with pumpkin and spices, of warm lattes, autumnal books, and pulling out the scarves and boots.

img_8167-1

It’s much too warm for boots or sweaters yet, but this cotton tunic/dress from Make Me Chic is a wonderful transitional piece that is helping me to bridge the gap between summer and fall dressing. I paired it with white pants and loafers for a Saturday-casual look, but I can’t wait to wear it as a dress with brown boots.

img_8161

As someone who is on a budget, having pieces of clothing that are versatile is critical to me. I need outfits that can be worn often and in different ways. I envision this paired with leggings, bare legs & sneakers, or even with jeans. One can wear this with sandals and messy hair pulled into a top knot, or as a more structured piece. The possibilities are exciting!

img_8168

What’s your favorite clothing item and/or accessory for fall? Mine are cozy sweatshirts and leather boots. Tell me yours in the comments!

Now on to books… I saw this edition of Frankenstein on Instagram recently and had to have it! My local bookstore was unable to order it, so I had to take matters into my own hands and order a copy from Amazon.

img_8174

Frankenstein is a classic that can be read multiple times, and on each reading you’ll find something new to discover or ponder. I’ve read it twice now and during my first time reading, I focused mainly on Victor Frankenstein, his creation, and all of the ethical questions that are raised during the duration of the narrative. During my second reading earlier this year, I discovered that there were important statements about women that Mary Shelley was making. I also noticed the Romantic themes that she wove into her story, which I’d not noticed before. I plan to read Frankenstein again sometime and I’m eager to discover what a third visit to this compelling story will reveal.

Until Next Time,

Shelbi

p.s. Time is running out on the giveaway that I’m hosting with JORD Wood Watches! Please visit this post for more information and to enter.

Dress c/o Make Me Chic

Watch c/o JORD Wood Watches

2 thoughts on “Autumn Dreaming

Leave a Reply

