The Blessing: A Review

img_1592This lighthearted novel was my first Nancy Mitford. I’d long intended to read her books but had never gotten around to it. When I finally picked this up, I wasn’t disappointed. It had a certain wit that at times was obvious, and at others so subtle that I wasn’t sure if it was indeed humor. This story follows the whirlwind, war-time marriage of a British woman and French aristocrat. The reader witnesses the two vastly different worlds collide, wondering – as many of the book’s characters do – whether the marriage will survive the cultural and philosophical differences between the couple as they begin their life together in France following the war.

img_2318
I started this on my trip to Boston and then had several days in between trips where I wasn’t able to read much (if any) before leaving again. Once I was traveling again I finished this quickly, as the narrative is entertaining and the plot never slows. I recommend this book for anyone who needs a light, quick, and entertaining story.

This edition of the book available here.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

While in Boston, my mom and I checked out the newest Tatte Bakery location, and you guys, it is stunning! A large, bright, sunny space overlooking bustling Harvard, with inspiring floors and the same yummy food that you can find at their other locations.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Dress from Zara.

I must confess: when they first began expanding, I was worried that the quality of their food would change, based on the experiences I’ve had with other once-favorite bakeries. But happily, I haven’t noticed any change in quality, and it’s so comforting to know that I can visit any of their locations and be assured of a delicious & delightful visit. If you live in Boston or are planning to visit any time soon, I highly recommend this location due to its proximity to Harvard Book Store (literally just steps away!).

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Visit the bakery here.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

Leave a Reply

